Community

Several people close to me have recently changed jobs and are really happy about it. One commented that he now spends more time with his friends. He wasn’t feeling that his old job was a community any longer. This morning, Saturday, I (happily) zipped over to work for a rehearsal from 8 to 9;30 a.m. for a show that my colleagues stage every three years as a fundraiser. It’s so important that one’s work be more than just a job, but a community where one can feel one truly belongs.

The same is true of other aspects of life — a family that is a community, a neighborhood, a circle of friends, etc. We sort of take it for granted when we have it, but we sure appreciate it when we regain a sense of community after feeling its absence (a new, happier job) and in times of trouble. I’m reflecting on this because I just learned that another friend’s parent recently passed away. Also, a friend who thanked me for the gift of a knitted item called me late last night with such words of appreciation. I hadn’t realized how her community had dwindled as she got more ill. She’s been very lonely and my gift helped her to feel more connected. It’s humbling….

The knitting community is incredible, both in person and in cyberspace. Witness the amazing donations reported to Knitters Without Borders on the Yarn Harlot’s blog, the growing donations to the growing numbers of charities to which knitters donate their labors of love. Some of my best friendships began with a knitting connection. As a community, we rock!

My FO is one of the only “charity” or community-related items I photographed before delivering to its intended recipient. It was a “commissioned” piece for a client of a colleague who is a therapist. Bottom line: the client had lost a lot of hair and wanted a soft, fuzzy, comforting, beanie that she could feel pretty wearing. I offered to knit it if the client provided the yarn, and she did and I did. The color is not to my own taste, but it’s a lovely soft acrylic novelty yarn that I ran with a more solid strand for strength. I wish I’d written down info from the ball bands. Oh well….

RogueTess,

about to cast on another charity/gift project to keep feeling good!

 

Commissioned BeanieCommissioned Beanie on

One thought on “Community”

  1. What about the possibility of pulling out of Iraq, letting Iran invade and lose resources fighting their own kind,
    and then come in and mop up the dregs?

Leave a Reply

