After Mardi Gras

Mardi Gras, or Fat Tuesday, represents the last big, indulgent blowout party before fasting during the season of Lent that begins on Ash Wednesday. The media is filled with news of Mardi Gras celebrations today, so I thought I’d go in a different direction and anticipate tomorrow. It felt timely because this little cross in the picture has been pushing itself into my days lately. It’s a crucifix modeled after the Chapel Cross in Mustard Seed Communities in Kingston, Jamaica. DH and DS volunteered there for a few weeks in July 2007, helping to rebuild the chapel and otherwise repair housing for developmentally disabled children and AIDS patients. It’s an amazing ministry to the neediest of Jamaica’s and Nicaragua’s children. So, to me, the cross is meaningful … and pretty!

Knitting content: I finished just one more ribbon repeat on my Pink Ribbon Socks. I’ll have to wait for the weekend for more substantial progress.

Leave a Reply

