Harry Potter and the Bittersweet Ending

Today I finished re-reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in preparation for watching the final movie. Yes, I cried. Again. This book came out around when my dad passed away on July 15, 2007. I recall alternating between reading it, working on his eulogy, then reading it some more. After I finished both, I gave the book to my cousin to read on the plane back to the Philippines and to give to her daughter since it wouldn’t be distributed there right away. It seemed fitting, not only because she and others had traveled so far to honor my dad, but because he himself had given so generously to all our relatives.

So maybe my tears weren’t exactly *all* for the losses in Harry’s world, after all.

Leave a Reply

