SD ComicCon Sunday

Such a full day! This post will just list the highlights and I’ll go into more leisurely detail in the future. Pictured with me is Khaled Hosseini, author of “The Kite Runner,” who’d just autographed my copy of the graphic novel version.

* Got a choice pre-paid parking spot at the Horton Plaza. No wonder – it was 7:30 a.m., yet I wasn’t the first! Then I got a take-out breakfast sandwich from The Cheese Shop deli, which impressed me so much I stopped there for a late lunch on my way out, too. The SDCC discount helped.

* Got in line about 1-1/2 hours early for Ballroom 6 for two panels. Met some great geeks (mostly girls!) and knitters, and congratulated myself for missing the crowd craziness of the GLEE and Doctor Who panels in Hall H.

* Was introduced to a wonderful new fantasy world of Wild Cards books, edited by George R.R. Martin since 1968. Later downstairs I bought the newest one and received a card autographed by everyone on the panel. Karma!

* Fell in love all over again with Nathan Fillion on the “Castle” panel. Now I totally get why being there live is such a kick. If I had a Timeturner, I would have endured the wait for Hall H after all.

* Wandered the aisles of the Exhibit Hall and scored lots of freebies, mostly bags plus comics and books to share with my classes. Bought “Browncoats: Redemption,” a Firefly fanfilm that was autographed by the writer and one of the actors. Also got some autographed posters to give to my nephew who loves his superheroes. I finally left when I realized I was hauling around at least 15 pounds of stuff. Oh, yes — below is a picture of me on the cover of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. 😉

* Drove home in hideous Sunday afternoon traffic, put my feet up on our front porch sofa, and snoozed alongside Dusty until sunset. Happy times.

Leave a Reply

