Feeling Ambivalent

imageimage

Tomorrow is the first day of school in 2015, signaling the end of Winter Break. I am feeling ambivalent. On the one hand, I have cherished every moment of my vacation time. On the other hand, I have so many things to share with my students. Oh, well, I am going back regardless of what I feel.

My Daily FO, the Endless Knitted Cardi Shawl, captures this feeling perfectly. It’s another kit containing pattern and yarn from Stitch Diva. The first time I knitted it in a lovely red wine color. I completed most of it while visiting my beloved mother-in-law Paula at Cedars-Sinai Hospital, finding the yarn and the process incredibly comforting. But after she passed away, I couldn’t bear to even handle it, so I frogged the entire project and put away the yarn for the future. Then I re-knit it slightly larger in lavender. Ambivalence.

Leave a Reply

